The Karen Land Of Rice

Thailand Mountain Trail a passé plusieurs années au contact des tribus des collines pour explorer les sentiers des montagnes du Nord. En 2015, nous avons relancé de nombreux itinéraires utilisés auparavant pour communiquer entre les villages de montagne et créé TMT01. La 1ère Grande Route Thaïlandaise est le plus long chemin de randonnée pédestre de Thaïlande ; il relie Chiang Mai à Chiang Dao.

Ce voyage de 2 jours nous mènera à la 1ère partie du TMT01 dans les régions Karen. Les Karens sont la plus grande tribu de Thaïlande. Originaires du Myanmar, ils se sont installés en Thaïlande au cours du XXe siècle et se sont installés dans les basses montagnes où ils cultivent du riz et des légumes. Nous recommandons ce voyage de Juillet à Novembre pendant la saison des pluies quand Karens plante et récolte le riz. Nous avons pu profiter des magnifiques paysages des rizières en terrasses.

Caractéristiques du Séjour

5,750 THB

Prix : All-inclusive
DURÉE
2 Jours
DISTANCE
30K
DÉNIVELÉ +
1,500M+
DIFFICULTÉ
2 Peaks
FORMULE
Trek & Discover

Départ : Pang Hai (1 heure de transfert)
Fin : Wat Prabat Si Roi (1 heure de transfert)
80% sentier / 20% piste
Points Forts : Rizières, Jungle, Villages Karen, Temple
1 Nuit dans une maison en bambou dans un village Karen
Durée : 5h de randonnée
Incluant l'hébergement, boissons, repas, transferts, guide
Transfert Hôtel (avant et après)
Plus de détails
Disponible toute l'année
Période recommandée : de juin à décembre
Fermé : avril / mai

1er Jour 15K & 800M+

La 1ère partie du voyage commence dans une jungle profonde sur un ancien chemin utilisé par les tribus Karen pour communiquer entre 2 villages. Le sentier a pratiquement disparu parce qu'il n'est plus utilisé par la population locale. Dans le 1er village que nous atteignons, nous trouvons un guide local pour nous aider à traverser la jungle sans difficulté majeure. La machette ne sera pas inutile pour avancer dans cet environnement difficile.

 

Après quelques kilomètres, la piste s'ouvre à nouveau. Nous apprécions de quitter la jungle profonde ; c'est comme respirer à nouveau après avoir plongé dans la nature verte et sauvage. Nous avons à peine le temps de profiter de la nouvelle ambiance quand, après un virage à gauche, nous découvrons les premières rizières. Nous randonnons à travers plusieurs champs et pourrions avoir la chance de rencontrer et de discuter avec les agriculteurs locaux.

 

Quand on voit les premiers toits des maisons, le village Karen de Mae Kha n'est pas loin. C'est un endroit merveilleux pour passer la nuit. Les gens vivent simplement et sont heureux de nous accueillir ; ils vivent en contact profond avec la nature. Après avoir pris une douche méritée directement à une cascade, nous partagerons un repas pour le souper avec les familles locales. Nous dormirons dans de confortables maisons en bois à côté des rizières.

 

2ème Jour 15K & 700M+

Le matin du 2ème jour, nous apprécions particulièrement le paysage unique sur les champs au lever du soleil en prenant le petit déjeuner. Nous quittons le village avec regret par l'un de ses versants montagneux, laissant peu à peu derrière nous ses toits de torchis et de crépis. De ce point de vue, le paysage est magnifique : en contrebas se trouvent les rizières en terrasses du village, tout autour se trouve une belle et luxuriante forêt tropicale, et plus bas se trouve la vallée de Chiang Mai.

 

Nous parcourons à nouveau les rizières dans une ambiance enchanteresse. Traverser les champs en terrasses demande une certaine habileté ; pour traverser les bandes d'herbe sans tomber, il faut apprendre à garder son équilibre. Après avoir passé le dernier champ, la route commence à remonter. C'est la partie la plus difficile du voyage ; c'est un chemin raide, long (et parfois glissant) jusqu'au sommet du barrage du Doi Pha (1400m). Au sommet, nous nous arrêterons pour déjeuner.

 

On the way down when the forest starts to open again, we are surprised to see the temple of Wat Prabat Si Roi that emerges suddenly in the valley. It’s very unusual to see such a big and beautiful temple in a remote mountain area. The temple is famous for its 4 Buddha footprints. It’s also a privileged area for meditation. This will be our finish place where we take a taxi back to Chiang Mai.

 

HÉBERGEMENT

Après le 1er jour de randonnée, nous atteindrons Mae Kha Piang pendant que le soleil relâche son emprise sur notre corps. Nous apprécierons immédiatement le calme, la fraîcheur et la beauté de ce village Karen entouré de jungle et de rizières. La douche froide dans une cascade du village, l'accueil et le sourire de ses habitants, la bonne chère et la nuit dans les maisons en bois nous aideront à reprendre des forces avant le 2ème jour de notre voyage.

The Karen Land Of Rice

Thailand Mountain Trail has spent several years in contact of the hill tribes to investigate the trails in the mountains of the North. In 2015 we revived many routes previously used for communicating between mountain villages and create TMT01. The 1st Thai Great Route is the longest hiking footpath of Thailand; it links Chiang Mai to Chiang Dao.

This 2-day trip will lead us to the 1st part of TMT01 in Karen areas. Karens are the biggest tribe in Thailand. Originally from Myanmar, they moved to Thailand during the 20th century and settled in the low mountains when they grow rice and vegetables. We recommend this trip from July to November during the rainy season when Karens plant and harvest rice. We could enjoy the magnificent landscapes of terraced rice fields.

Characteristics of the Trip

5,750 THB

All-inclusive price
DURATION
2 Days
DISTANCE
30K
ELEVATION GAIN
1,500M+
DIFFICULTY
2 Peaks
TRIP TYPE
Trek & Discover

Start: Pang Hai (1 hour transfer)
Finish: Wat Prabat Si Roi (1 hour transfer)
80% single-track trail / 20% double-track trail
Highlights: Rice paddies, Jungle, Karen villages, Temple
1 Night in bamboo huts in a Karen village
Duration: 5 hiking hours a day
Including accommodation, drinks, meals, transfers, guide
See details
Pick up & Drop off at your hotel (city center)
  Available all year round
Recommended season: June to December
Closed: April / May

1st Day 15K & 800M+

The 1st part of the trip starts in a deep jungle on an old path used by Karen tribes to communicate between 2 villages. The trail has mostly disappeared because it is not used anymore by locals. In the 1st village we reach, we find a local guide to help us to cross the jungle without any major difficulties. The machete won’t be useless to move forward through this challenging environment.

 

After a couple of kilometers, the trail opens again. We appreciate to leave the deep jungle; it is like breathing again after plunging into the green wilderness. We barely have the time to enjoy the new atmosphere when, after a turn on the left, we discover the first rice paddies. We hike through several fields and might be lucky to meet and discuss with locals famers.

 

When we see the first roofs of the houses, the Karen village of Mae Kha is not far away. It’s a wonderful place to stay overnight. People live simply and are happy to welcome us; they live in deep contact with nature. After enjoying a deserved shower directly at a waterfall, we will share a meal for dinner with local families. We will sleep in comfortable wood houses besides the rice fields.

 

2nd Day 15K & 700M+

In the morning of the 2nd day we particularly appreciate the unique scenery on fields at sunrise while having breakfast. We quit the village with regret by one of its mountain slopes, gradually leaving its wattle and daub roofs behind us. From this view point, the scenery is wonderful: far below are the terraced rice fields of the village, all around is a beautiful and luxuriant tropical forest, and further down is the valley of Chiang Mai.

 

We trek again through rice paddies in an enchanting atmosphere. Crossing the terraced fields requires some skills; to walk across the strips of grass without falling, we have to learn how to keep our balance. After we pass the last field, the route starts to rise again. This is the most difficult part of the trip; it’s a steep, long (and sometimes slippery) way up to the summit of Doi Pha Dam (1400m). At the top, we will stop for lunch.

 

On the way down when the forest starts to open again, we are surprised to see the temple of Wat Prabat Si Roi that emerges suddenly in the valley. It’s very unusual to see such a big and beautiful temple in a remote mountain area. The temple is famous for its 4 Buddha footprints. It’s also a privileged area for meditation. This will be our finish place where we take a taxi back to Chiang Mai.

 

ACCOMMODATION

After the 1st hiking day, we will reach Mae Kha Piang while the sun is releasing its hold on our bodies. We will immediately appreciate the quietness, the freshness as the beauty of this Karen village surrounded by jungle and paddies. The cold shower in a waterfall in the village, the reception and the smile of its inhabitants, the delicious food and the night in local wood houses will help us to get strength back before the 2nd day of our trip.